The Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company

The Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company was formed in 1847 when the Manchester & Leeds Railway amalgamated with the Manchester & Bolton Railway, the Liverpool & Bury Railway, and the West Riding Union Railway.

In 1855, the Rochdale Canal company leased the canal for a period of 45 years to a consortium of railway companies of which the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway was the biggest shareholder.

In 1922, the company merged with the London North Western Railway.

In 1923, this became a part of the London, Midland & Scottish Railway.

See also

The Shaw family of Holywell Green

Beacon Hill Tunnel
Bottom Hall Viaduct, Norwood Green

Thomas Bradley Chambers
Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax
Coal Drops, Sowerby Bridge
Copley Viaduct

Dean Head Light Railway

Elland Tunnel

Gauxholme Railway Bridge
Greetland Viaduct

Halifax Improvements Acts
Halifax Railway Station
Hebden Bridge Railway Station
High Level Railway
Hipperholme Railway Station
Hipperholme Tunnel
Richard Horsfall
Joseph Hoyle

Junction House, Norwood Green

Lightcliffe Railway Station
Lightcliffe tunnel

North Bridge Railway Station
North Dean Railway Station

Pickle Bridge Line
Abraham Crowther Pitchforth

Rastrick Viaduct, Bridge End
Rawroyds Viaduct, Holywell Green
John Riley
Ryburn Valley branch line

South Parade Methodist Chapel, Halifax
Sowerby Bridge railway arches

Thornhill Briggs Viaduct

Wyke Tunnel
Wyke Viaduct

See Railways Act [1921]

© Malcolm Bull 2024
Revised 17:43 / 3rd May 2024 / 5186

Page Ref: MML1066

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind