Duke of Wellington's Regiment


The Duke of Wellington's Regiment – also known as the Havercake Lads – is the only regiment to be named after a commoner.

The regiment was formed when the 33rd Regiment of Foot and the 76th Regiment of Foot merged in 1881. The name was taken because the Duke of Wellington had been Colonel of the 33rd Regiment of Foot.

The Wellesley Barracks were built for the regiment.

The regiment went on to become a famous British regiment whose actions included:

The regiment is unique in carrying four colours on parade.

Since 1845, the Regiment has the right, granted by the County Borough of Halifax, to march through the streets of the town

on all ceremonial occasions with bayonets fixed, colours flying and bands playing

The following are recorded:

Since 1998, the regiment has had two battalions.

The regiment still recruits many of its men and women from what was the West Riding.

The regiment is known for its success on the Rugby field, and has won the Army Cup 14 times – more than any other regiment – and been runners up 7 times.

The Duke of Wellington's Chapel is inside the south-east corner Halifax Parish Church.

Since 1960, the Museum of the Duke of Wellington's Regimental Association has been at Bankfield.

In 2004, there were fears that the regiment would be disbanded when the government announced plans to reorganise the army. The Dukes survived to become a part of a new Yorkshire Regiment – including The Green Howards and The Prince of Wales' Own – and became the 3rd Battalion The Yorkshire Regiment, Duke of Wellington's

© Malcolm Bull 2023
Revised 12:58 / 12th April 2023 / 8438

Page Ref: MMD74

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind