Halifax Rugby Club

Halifax Rugby League Club was founded in 1873.

Their first ground was at Trinity Cricket Ground, in an area towards King Cross on which Norfolk Place now stands. The first match was against Wakefield on 26th December 1874.

They moved to Thrum Hall in 1886 and this was their home for the next 112 years.

In 1878, the team became the first ever winners of the Yorkshire Challenge Cup. They subsequently won it a further 4 times: 1886, 1888, 1893, 1894.

In 1886, the club moved to Thrum Hall.

The club played Rugby Union until 1895, when it was one of the 22 original members (along with Brighouse Rangers locally) of the break-away Northern Union, which became the Rugby League in 1922.

On 18th December 1925, there was an appeal for finances after it was reported that the Club was overdrawn by £1,970.

The club has enjoyed several successful eras as one of the best in the game, notably in the 1900s, 1930s, 1950s & 1980s.

In 1939, the club beat Salford 20-3 to win the Rugby League Challenge Cup Final at Wembley to a crowd of 55,453 spectators.

The 1954 Cup final reply against Warrington – which they unfortunately lost – attracted over 102,000 spectators to Odsal Stadium in Bradford, at the time the highest attendance for any UK sporting event.

In 1987, the team won the Challenge Cup after beating St Helens 19-18.

In 1995, there was a plan to merge the club with Bradford Northern, but this was abandoned when both teams joined the new Super League.

In 1996, the team became Halifax Blue Sox R. L. F. C.

In 1998, the team left Thrum Hall to share The Shay Stadium with Halifax Town A. F. C.

Those who have played with the Club have included:

Alvin  Ackerley
Albert  Akroyd
Albert  Atkinson

Ike  Bartle
Arthur  Bassett
John  Beames
Nathan  Bentham
Edmund  Buckley
J.  William Bulmer
Oliver  Burgham

Michael  Condon
Terence  Cook

Arthur Harper Daniels
William,  T. Davies
Kenneth  Dean

Percy  Eccles
Arthur  Evans

Frederick  Firth

Anthony  Halmshaw
James  Hilton

Hudson  Irving

Walter  Jesse Jackson
David  Jones

Stanley  Kielty
George  Henry Wray Kitson

George  Langhorn
William  B. Little
Robert  Lloyd

Melvyn  Meek
Alfred  Milnes
John  Morley
Walter  Morton
Andrew  Murdison

Garfield  Owen

William Stuart Prosser

David  Rees
Charles  Renilson
Jack  Riley
Joe  Riley
Kenneth  Roberts
Asa  Robinson

Derrick  Schofield
John  Shaw
Herbert  Smith
Cyril  Stacey

David  Thomas
George  Thomas Thomson
John  Thorley
Frank  Todd

Ernest  Ward
Leslie  White
Harry  Wilkinson
John  Wilkinson
Frank  Williams
William  J. Williams
David  Willicombe
Jack Wilson
Albert  Wood

See Halifax Rugby League Club and Halifax Rugby Union Club

© Malcolm Bull 2021
Revised 15:04 / 12th May 2021 / 9504

Page Ref: KK_188

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind