The Halifax Authors' Circle

The Circle was formed in 1926 when John Marsh, then an aspiring young author, approached Phyllis Bentley, already an international name, to form a group of established, working authors for mutual help.

The was wound up and final meeting took place at Spring Hall Mansion on 27th June 1989. John Marsh was present at both meetings.

The following local authors were members of the Halifax Authors' Circle:

Will Austin

Leslie Bancroft
Donald Barker
Doris Beer
Margaret Bentley
Phyllis Bentley Dr  Phyllis Eleanor Bentley
Derick Bridge
Norman Brown

Jack Escott

Mabel Ferrett
Margaret Fox

Hilda-Margaret Gledhill
Jessie Gray
Tom Green

Cynthia Hand
Peggy Hewitt
Rex Holdsworth
William  Holt

Dr  Frank King

Clifford Lees
Margaret Lees
Whiteley  Lumb

Edgar  Mann
John  Marsh
Peter Murrey

Eve  Naylor
Nancy Nott

John  Ogden
Dora Orde

June Paxton-White
James  Pickles
Arthur Porritt

Jack Wild

Some of their publications appear in the entry for Books about Halifax & Calderdale

© Malcolm Bull 2022
Revised 11:43 / 27th August 2022 / 5299

Page Ref: KK_177

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind