Honour of Pontefract

The Honour of Pontefract – or the Barony of Pontefract – was a group of 204 small manors – an honour – which included areas around Pontefract and also the townships of Halifax, Brighouse, Elland, Greetland and Southowram.

The Honour was first granted to Ilbert de Lacy in 1067. The lands had previously been owned by Gamel.

The Honour also included parts of Huddersfield, Bradford, Leeds, and Holmfirth.

Some areas in the modern Calderdale district which were included in the Honour were

Around 1090, lord of the Honour of Pontefract, was granted the Blackburn Hundred, aka the Honour of Clitheroe.

The Honour of Pontefract was later granted to John of Gaunt

© Malcolm Bull 2021
Revised 16:22 / 14th April 2021 / 3273

Page Ref: KK_17

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind